Project info

The Inca civilization united under their empire all the smaller groups living in South America. They named their empire Tawantinsuyu, the “four corners”. An area that includes northern Argentina and Chile, Peru, Bolivia and part of Equador.

These photos explore aspects of modern day Tawantinsuyu. Its landscape, cities and people are recipients of that culture that once dominated a vast portion of the continent. And through them their cultural past tries to remain alive.