For 18 years, the Prix HSBC pour la Photographie has given support to two up and coming photographic talents, helping them promote and develop their work. The prize is only available to photographers who have never had a monograph published, regardless of their age or nationality. This year, the jury selected Akiko Takizawa and Delphine Burtin.

Burtin is a Swiss photographer who began her career as a graphic artist. Her background is evident in the sparse, minimal presentation in her work. In the words of Simon Baker, Tate photographer curator and artistic consultant for the HSBC prize, Burtin "offers a seductive and very clever combination of instinctive reactions to her daily environment. Her work expresses an understanding of the physical potential of photography as an object. Her work lies halfway between photography and sculpture, a trait particularly evident in the manner in which she uses space. Her work, for relative newcomer, is biting, conceptual, and already feels well-established and refined. "

Takizawa is a Japanese photographer who pursued an education in the United Kingdom and is now based in London. Although having spent the last many years based in Europe, Takizawa's work retains a very strong visual tie to traditional Japanese photography. In the words of Simon Baker, Tate photographer curator and artistic consultant for the HSBC prize, "This astonishing series of photographs evokes the return of the artist to the house of her grandparents, located in remote regions of northern Japan. In the tradition of Issei Suda, Eikoh Hosoe and Daido Moriyama, Takizawa works with intense contrast, deep blacks and ephemeral reliefs to make dramatic compositions. The prints are collotypes, printed on traditional Japanese paper. Thus, Takizawa's work is exceptional in having both a distinctive physical and aesthetic character. Takizawa is a major and exciting artist who combines traditional processes with contemporary ideas."

Both winners' photographs will be shown in a traveling exhibition. They will also have their first monographs published through support from the prize. Congratulations to both for their excellent work!