Description

A book of B&W photographs of Detroit (mostly people) from 1960s - 2000s. Russ' 30 year freelance career took him from the peopled streets of Detroit's inner city to the auto factories' assembly lines and foundries, jazz clubs and strip joints, Tommy Hearns' Kronk gym to Detroit Eastern Market's pork brains, fish tails and hog farmers. Working girls plying their trade on Cass Ave. and at the now closed Fisher Body Plant on Fort Street. A few pages of narrative description. 6x9/ 182 pages/ 119 B&W photographs - many are double page spreads. Soft cover perfect bound. Included is a loose double-sided laminated page listing each photo's ID/year and the author's professional bio, publications, exhibits, books and collections. "Detroit Doc is a compact paperback collection of fifty years of gritty urban photographs by Russ Marshall. Self-published without compromise, a small masterpiece for fans of Brassai, Invisible Cities and noir movies." The Book Beat - Oak Park, MI

Visit website