Laurel Nakadate

31hajr1 ail
Laurel Nakadate: 365 Days: A Catalogue of Tears
by Rick Moody
Publisher's Description
Laurel Nakadate’s work in performance, photography, and film demonstrates an unusual level of humanity, as she foregrounds vulnerability, emotion, and sensitivity with a striking level of candor. On January 1, 2010, Nakadate (*1975 in Austin) decided to cry every day for one year, documenting the action in photographs and initiating a ritual that would let her “deliberately subject herself to sadness.” The artist produced a forceful performance that addresses issues of self-reflection, portraiture, and emotion. Her photographs provide deep insight into her private life, abashing observers while at the same time arousing their compassion. Art-historical quotations or “bad images” underscore the artistic character of the scenes. Nakadate’s “catalogue of tears” makes denied emotions visible, present, palpable, and momentary.
ISBN: 3775732683
Publisher: Hatje Cantz
Hardcover : 392 pages
Language: English
Dimensions: 8.5 x 11 x 1.3 inches
Buy on Amazon