Dorothea Lange

51ft1me5hsl
Impounded: Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment
by Linda Gordon
Publisher's Description
This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange’s stature as one of the twentieth century’s greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army—the majority of which have never been published—Impounded evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac’s A Vanished World, Impounded, with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war.
ISBN: 039306073X
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Hardcover : 224 pages
Language: English
Dimensions: 7.2 x 9.4 x 0.9 inches
Buy on Amazon