Breakaway state
Project info

Between Moldova and Ukraine is a small landstrip, stuck in time.
It is called Transnistria, a small breakaway state.

Although the state declared independence in 1990, the vast majority of other countries do not recognise its sovereignty.
As of 2011, only Abkhazia, Nagorno-Karabakh Republic and South Ossetia recognise its independence, all themselves states with limited recognition. Despite not officially recognizing Transnistria's independence, Russia has established a consulate in the disputed territory.